Meanwhile…. back at Chancel Street

A very pleasant day at the start of February was the setting for fifth 28 day Appearance and I was asked these questions:

Capper Street to National Hospital for Neurology and Neurosurgery

Bakers Hall to Mitre Square

Bow Registry Office to Patriot Square

Hyde Park Square to Queens Gardens

 

Before I’ve started I’ve managed to drop 4 points including the Macmillan Cancer Centre and I’ve gone Huntley Street, Torrington Place, Gower Street… L New Oxford Street…. L Old Gloucester Street, Comply Queen Square SDOL. I’ve also managed to call 2 wrong Street names and scored 4/10 – disappointing start.

Now on the next run, I knew that Lime Street, Fenchurch Avenue etc has been closed for ages, so I’ve decided to avoid that route. (BTW it’s all open again now, I checked that weekend). This time I’ve opted for LOL Harp Lane, Cross Lane, St Dunstens Hill, Eastcheap, Philpot Lane, Fenchurch St, Gracechurch St and even though I knew it was illegal, I went right on Leadenhall St.

What a plonker am I! The examiner stopped me right there and was none too pleased with that manoeuvre. I hadn’t dropped any points on this run, and this was a great chance to make up a few points – 0/10 and 16 points dropped on my first 2 runs. It’s now a very big ask indeed.

Four points dropped on the next run and even though the line was ok, I’m sure now that I’m staring a D in the face. I kept this big and went Bow Rd, Grove Rd, Roman Rd, Cambridge Heath Rd and R into Patriot Sq. 6/10

On the last run, I’ve continued the theme of haemorrhaging points and dropped another 5. Coupled with a crap line I’ve scored 3/10 13/40 and another D.

This could have been my drop to 21s and I’ve walked out feeling like a crass amateur. The guys and girls back at the school were, and always are, very supportive. We have a philosophy when we don’t score – ‘Bag it, bin it and move on!’….

 

…. Which brings me to my next Appearance in the first week of March. Here’s what I was asked:

Rainville Rd to North Dulwich Station

Petty Wales to Bayswater Station

Rainbow Sports Bar to Snowfields

Watergate to Watergate St

No points dropped here and as the first line is rather long, here’s the gist of it. I left Rainville Rd and made my wat to Battersea Bridge, then along Clapham Common North Side… Acre Lane… Effra Rd… Dulwich Rd… Half Moon Lane and L into Red Post Hill and SDOR. It’s a while since I pointed North Dulwich Station and when I did I failed to notice that you can’t drop it on the right. 0/10

I managed to drop Water Lane on the second run, for crying out loud. Anyway I’ve gone along the river and turned right at Temple Place, then made my way up to Oxford St via Soho then the straight forward line to Queensway. This is Mayfair all day so another 2 points dropped and a 7/10 – all to play for still.

Run number 3, I went straight over London Bridge then Borough High St… Long Lane… Bermondsey St and Snowfields. A point dropped for hesitation and another because I think the examiner was looking for Weston St – Happy days 8/10.

For the final run I’ve done an illegal right at the start and I’m sorry but I’m too embarrassed to tell you what it is. Anyway the rest of the run was pretty good and the examiner said to me, ‘I’m sorry but there was a bit of noise at the start of that, would you call it again please?’ – he was giving me a chance but this was far too subtle for me to comprehend and I called the illegal again, FFS. 0/10, 15/40 in total.

This was my 2nd chance to get my drop to 21s and I’m at 3-3 and looking at getting red lined, somewhere I really didn’t want to be. I have, however got one more chance.

 

An utterly beautiful day at the start of April greeted me for the 7th stab at my 28s. I was asked the following:

Pickfords Wharf to Debruin Court

Laburnham Boat Club to Curfew Rowing Club

Auriol Rowing Club to London Wetlands Centre

Cygnet Rowing Club to Corinthian Sailing Club

 

On the first run I’ve dropped 5 points including Islington Boat Club and Regents Canoe Club. The line I took was City Rd…. Commercial Rd… Limehouse Link… Westferry Rd and R into Ferry St. After dropping 5 points I’m elated to have scored 5/10 for that one.

The next run I’ve dropped no points and basically stitched 2 Blue Book runs together (Cambridge Heath Stn to Mudchute Stn and Beaumont Sq to Cannon Wharf Business Park) and gone via Rotherhithe tunnel. I have to suppose that this was what the Examiner was looking for as I scored 10/10!

On the third run I’ve dropped 4 points on Queen Elizabeth Walk. The Examiner kept saying SW13 after each point and, like a plank, I’m giving him destinations in Putney (SW15). Anyway apart from forgetting Mall Rd (when I left I said ‘Leave by forward and right Rutland Grove’, hoping he wouldn’t notice – well he did!), I seem to have pulled another good line and that’s 5/10.

So going into the last run I need 4 points. I didn’t drop any points and it’s a banker. Well peeps, apart from calling Riverside Dr Riverdale Rd, I’ve called it spot on and scored 9/10.

Now, I’ve had well over 20 Appearances and I don’t know if I’ve done enough here. The Examiner spoke for what seemed an eternity before he handed me back my card and said ‘We’ll see you again in 21 days time.’ 29/40 points and 4 – 3 on Appearances and I’m on my 21s. I couldn’t stop thanking the Examiner. I’m sure he must have been on the brink of just telling me to go! I then made my way back to London Bridge Station walking several feet above the pavement!

 

Image result for cartoon labrador

One of the guys at our Knowledge School posted this on our Whatsapp group about 3 weeks ago and I’m still laughing at it now. Enjoy!

A man sees a sign outside a house – ‘Talking Dog For Sale.’ He rings the bell, the owner appears and tells him the dog can be viewed in the back garden. The man sees a very nice looking Labrador Retriever sitting there.

“Do you really talk?” he asks the dog.

“Yes,” the Labrador replies.

After recovering from the shock of hearing the dog talk, the man asks, “So, tell me your story.”

The Labrador looks up and says, “Well, I discovered that I could talk when I was pretty young. I wanted to help the government, so I was sold to the SAS.  In no time at all they had me jetting from country to country, sitting in rooms with spies and world leaders, because no one imagined that a dog would be eavesdropping. I was one of their most valuable spies for eight years”.

“But the jetting around really tired me out, and I knew I wasn’t getting any younger so I decided to settle down. I signed up for a job at Heathrow Airport to do some undercover security work, wandering near suspicious characters and listening in.  I uncovered some incredible dealings and was awarded several medals”.

“Then I got married, had a few puppies, and now I’ve just retired.”

The man is amazed.  He goes back into the house and asks the owner how much he wants for the dog. “Ten quid,” the owner says. “£10!!? But your dog is absolutely amazing! Why on earth are you selling him so cheaply?”

“Because he’s a lying b@stard, he’s never been out of the garden.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Meanwhile…. back at Chancel Street

  1. Phil says:

    Well done Dave, it’s the home straight. All these years and I’m starting to feel like your groupie.

  2. Michael says:

    Been checking in pretty regularly to see if you’ve finally got over the line and I’m on tenterhooks here..haha! Hope you’re well and you’re progressing through this stage.

    My books are done and I’ll be showing my face on Chancel Street soon enough. One more poor soul for them to torment…..

    All the best.

  3. Phil says:

    Don’t tell me… you’ve packed it in and gone to work for Uber.

  4. dam says:

    Hello Dave , how you getting on ? Ive get my drop to 21’s few days ago , how is it on that stage ?

  5. dam says:

    Dave you are promise us post about 21’s … where is it? 😦

Leave a Reply

