56 Day Appearance #2 (Mark 2)

Hi Peeps, really sorry about not doing an update for so long, but I had to cancel 2 appearances and then I was up again at the end of May. Here’s what I was asked:

Chelsea and Westminster Hospital to Mile End Hospital

Peckham Rye Station to Royal Hospital

Highgate Golf Course to Royal Gardens Hotel

St Charles Hospital to Liverpool St Station platforms (Harwich Lane)

The first run I’ve gone up to Knightsbridge… Constitution Hill… Strand… Bank Junction then taken the straight line to Mile End Rd and done a left. The string says Victoria Embankment so I’ve dropped a point for going a bit wide and 2 for hesitation (I did stutter a lot) and a 7/10 – happy days.

Next up I got onto Peckham High Street and did the line towards Vauxhall Bridge and when I got there I decided to take Nine Elms Lane and go over Chelsea Bridge for reasons I can’t really explain. So another point dropped for going wide, 2 for hesitation and 1 for an incorrect street name – 6/10.

For this one I’ve gone the right side of the Heath, but then I’ve gone Finchley Rd – Wellington Rd and all the way to Baker Street before Marylebone Rd – Old Marylebone Rd – Sussex Gardens… Kensington Church Street – Kensington High Street. Mercifully, I’ve only dropped 2 points for going very wide and the now standard 2 points for being a stuttering buffoon. 6/10.

The last run I’ve got onto Ladbroke Grove then Westbourne Park Rd – Chepstow Rd and made my way down to Bayswater Rd – Oxford Street and via Red Lion Square to Holborn Circus (Junction) then I did Charterhouse St – Lindsay St – Long Lane – Beech St – Chiswell St – Finsbury Pavement – South Place – Wilson St – Sun St – Appold St – Primrose St and Harwich Lane. When I stringed this it was pitifully low and I’ve been docked 2 points plus the expected 2 points for hesitation and got 6/10.

So it’s another ‘Come To Daddy’ moment for this Knowledge Boy as I’ve got 25/40 and another C, and the world is a wonderful place.

Earlier this year I had an interview in Islington. Now, as the interview wasn’t until 3.30 in the afternoon, I decided to get there around lunch time and do some pointing on foot.

After a couple of hours I decided to write up some notes and get a coffee at The Angel on Islington High Street. With 20 minutes to go before my interview on St John Street I decided to visit the lavatory before making my way there. Well, they have those push taps in the toilets, so I put my hand under the tap and pushed it. I’m not exaggerating when I say that it came out like a water cannon, hit my hand and saturated my crotch. As luck would have it I was wearing a light grey suit!

I really had no choice here, off came the strides and I tried desperately to dry them under the hand dryer. While I’m stood there, in walked 2 blokes who just looked at me, sniggered and carried on. It’s a fact that trying to explain anything would just be seen as an admission of guilt.

I managed to dry them as best I could and made it to the interview with 10 seconds to spare.

In case you’re wondering, I didn’t get the job.

This entry was posted in Appearances. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 56 Day Appearance #2 (Mark 2)

  1. Neil says:

    Very well done and very funny. Pleased to see you get another 3 points. I’m 1-1 on 21s having been slaughtered in an appearance on Monday on points……..I managed to drop 10 points on 1 run…….and then I lost the ability to see the most simple of points as nerves kicked in. I’ve taken a few days off and feel a lot better for it and decided in future I’m going to try and be more relaxed and not worry about the result so much…..just do my best.

    Tbh I thought you may have given up but pleased to see you still going.
    Good luck on your next app!!!
    Neil

    • Hi Neil,
      Thanks for stopping by again. Jeez, you must have waltzed through your 28s – well done you.
      The nerves don’t get any better with time do they? I’m still like a scared rabbit every time my name’s called out.
      All the very best going forward mate, and I hope I’ve got some good news after my next one at the end of July.
      Be lucky,
      Dave

  2. Paul Odd says:

    Hi,
    I really enjoyed reading all of your stories, which I did last before I started the “K”. I saved them as a favourite, but for some time now I only get be story up to your 28s.
    Would you be kind enough to send me a link, so I can again read all of your highs and lows, and now I have spent 16 months on it, it is making a lot more sense.
    Many thanks
    Paul

Leave a Reply

